Wedding Week Recaps: The Ceremony

Y’all. Our ceremony was simply amazing. I hate that I didn’t delegate properly and leave plenty of time to prepare for the ceremony, because I think it would have alleviated SOME of the pre-ceremony stress I was feeling. We also didn’t have a rehearsal, which in hindsight, probably wasn’t the best idea. We should have at least held a “family meeting” and ran through the ceremony.

Actually, the ceremony itself was PERFECT. It was the before-the-ceremony part that was a little awkward. My fault–I didn’t make it clear to the photographer, the officiant, my parents, OR my liason at the Farm where I wanted to be before the ceremony, or how I wanted to walk in, so there was a lot of shuffling. That being said, all those people–Regina, Erin, Mom, and Jean saved my ass. And I am grateful.

So where were we? My Dad came back into the changing room just before the ceremony started, and I nearly lost it. It does something to a girl when her Dad tells her she looks beautiful.

Then things just got funny. Since it was just our family, and Dustin was holed up in the mens’ changing room, I was fully prepared to just strut out in front of the “guests” to get the front doors (which is where I’d walk in). Apparently, that was a no-no, so Regina and Jean tried to get me out the back way, but the door wouldn’t open. There was kicking involved, people. The whole scene did a lot to calm me the hell down. Again, laughter is key. Keep your nerdy dad by your side.

I did eventually make my way around the Farm, and to the front doors, where Dad and I stood awkwardly, realizing we had no idea how they would signal us when they were ready for us. See? Details, people. I thought I had them all.

We heard my processional start, and I clinked (heel caps are must on hardwood floors) down the makeshift aisle to the Beatles, “Here, There, and Everywhere.” I cried the whole way, and Dad made me laugh (insert nerdy engineer/math jokes about Mathematica on the iPhone).

Our ceremony opened with a prayer, Dad lit a candle for the grandparents that couldn’t be there. Dustin’s mom read “I Carry Your Heart” by e.e. cummings, and Dustin’s dad read an excerpt from C.S. Lewis’s Mere Christianity. Our readings were amazing, and it was so great getting our parents involved. We love our folks.

Then, Erin led our ceremony by reading the story of how we met, how he proposed, what we love about each other, and then we said our vows. We wrote them ourselves, and they are pretty amazing, if I do say so myself. We wanted to have an “I Do” in there somewhere, so Erin lead our ring exchange. Before we knew it, Erin pronounced us married! My mom read the last stanza of “Song of the Open Road” by Walt Whitman,, and then we got to kiss, and we practically skipped out of the room to the Beatles “Good Day, Sunshine.”

Then we got to do my favorite thing ever: be alone. We put a note in our ceremony that we were observing Yichud, which is a tradition in Jewish weddings. It’s basically just a time and a space where Dustin and I got to take a breath together. We spent a lot of time laughing and kissing. Just the way we like it.

About AshleyGee

I'm a graduate instructor at a completely Southern (Football, Rush Week, and lots of "Hey Y'alls!") university. I teach freshman comp, study
This entry was posted in Coupleness, The Big Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

