I love birdcage veils. Always have. I first saw them watching old movies on TCM, and I fell in love with the sight of gorgeous silver screen sirens, usually weeping behind a black birdcage veil, dabbing their eyes with a delicate hanky. Faye Dunaway in Chinatown. She’s not exactly delicate, and she isn’t dabbing, but I couldn’t actually find an image of the film noir damsel in distress I have in my memory.

I wore two vintage birdcage veil / hat combos for my boudoir photos, and I knew I’d wear a birdcage veil on my wedding day.

I’d originally set out to make one myself, and despite the ample handful of really great tutorials out there for DIY-ing a veil, I just don’t trust my buying/cutting/sewing skills. So I set out to find an affordable alternative. Enter birdcageveils.com. Apparently, this is a little veil shop run through a bridal boutique in Texas. I took a leap of faith with this one. Buying a veil is usually done in person, at a bridal boutique, with several (hundred) more dollars passing hands. I’m in Podunk, MS–there isn’t a bridal boutique, and I don’t have lots of money to spend on a veil. So I went for it. And I ordered the 17″ Russian netting Emma veil for $37. $37. My shoes were more expensive than that.

I’m going to wear it more angled than the image above (click through the Emma link above, and watch the short video at the bottom of the page. That’s how I want it!), and with a much less…feathery…fascinator.

Speaking of fascinators, I am going to make that. I saw one on birdcageveils.com that I really liked, but at $45, I couldn’t bring myself to pay that much for a silk flower. So I’ve ordered pretty white silk flowers, with rhinestone centers, and will be making my own fascinator to clip into my hair and veil. Seems like a perfect compromise since I wasn’t brave enough to tackle sewing my own veil.

Now I just need a delicate hankie and a detective’s office to walk into, and I’ll be set.

About AshleyGee

I'm a graduate instructor at a completely Southern (Football, Rush Week, and lots of "Hey Y'alls!") university. I teach freshman comp, study
This entry was posted in DIY, Other Attire and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

