I’m in a funk. A wedding funk. A school funk. A nobody likes me, everybody hates me, guess I’ll go eat worms funk.

It will pass, thank goodness. I guess it’s because I just got back from a pretty amazing vacation and visit with my parents who are way cooler now than they were when I was 15, and  now I have to start teaching, get used to being back in the middle of freaking nowhere, Mississippi, start working on my thesis, AND start packing up my apartment this week. And I don’t want to do any of these things.

What I really want to do is just lounge around in my house dress all day, watching The X-Files and reading cookbooks. But none of those things are going to get the above task-list done.

So this is what I’m trying to do to defunkify myself:

1. Shower and make the bed as soon as I get up, and I’m getting up before 10 (I know, I know. 10 am? That’s early for me. I’m sorry).

2. from Etsy seller HoneyBoo

There’s always going to be family drama, people I’d love to tell to stfu and get the hell out of my life already, services I’m not happy with, deadlines I can’t change, paychecks I can’t increase–all situations beyond my control that I still find myself getting premature wrinkles over. So I’m trying just to let it all go, and focus instead on what’s important to me: My fiance is adorable and he loves me (and I love him). The people I care about care about me, too. My friends have good taste in trashy tv and cheap booze. My kittehs are funny. Our new apartment complex has a pool. I have access to really good local food, some of it I grew myself, and I am a pretty good cook.

3. Get organized. Sure, writing out three calendars may be a little redundant, but writing three calendars out helps me remember what I have to do, allows me to see how much time I have to do it in, and lets me feel like I have just a tiny iota of control over my life.

4. Wait patiently. For a lot of things. For things I don’t actually need right now (my boudoir and engagement photos, for another vacation, for new episodes of Futurama and True Blood), and for things I do need (my paychecks to start coming again, for my summer class to start).

5. Look forward to things. To November 22nd. To December 25th. To buying our yearly Hallmark ornaments. To buying our “Our First Christmas” ornament. To finally seeing Toy Story 3 with Dustin. To Harry Potter. To moving into our brand new (to us) condo that has a huge kitchen! A second bedroom! A swimming pool! A second bathroom! Lots and lots and lots of storage!

6. Snuggle. With Dustin. With my kittehs who don’t actually want to snuggle with me because I kiss their noses too much. In other words, quality time. Lots of quality time.

What do you do to get back on track?

About AshleyGee

I'm a graduate instructor at a completely Southern (Football, Rush Week, and lots of "Hey Y'alls!") university. I teach freshman comp, study
This entry was posted in NWR. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. I have no additional suggestions, but your list makes me feel warm and fuzzy, so thanks for that dude! 🙂

Leave a Reply

