Engagement Photo Inspiration

I want two major things out of my engagement photos: 1) for them to be fun, both in how they turn out and how we felt while having them taken; and 2) for them to reflect who we are. It would be totally ideal if we showed these photos to our friends and family, only to have them look at them and exclaim, “That’s totally you!”

Nevertheless, here are some I’d love to copy use as inspiration:

Thing we love #1: Books, Bookstores, Libraries. He almost proposed in a library (I ruined that plan by going shopping. Sorry, babe-alicious). We both have English degrees. We adore the written word. And books smell really good (Did you know you can tell a lot about the quality of a book by the way the pages smell? Totally true.).

Source

Source

Source

Source

Source

Thing I Love #2: Umbrellas. (And rain boots). I may or may not jump in puddles. I love rain boots and bright umbrellas. Dustin indulges me on this one. I’d love to see the image below re-imagined with us, with our jeans rolled up to our knees, and my galoshes on, splashing around in a fountain somewhere. Manners and maturity be damned.

Source

Thing I Love #3: Balloons. Does anything else really need to be said?

Source

Source

Thing we love #4: Our iPhones. It’s a bit ridiculous, actually.

Source

Thing we love #5: General cuddles and/or silliness. I don’t have any professional examples, because no one does this better than us.*

Personal photo, wherein I steal Dustin’s Coke slushie and somehow grow a watermelon-sized skull.

* And because of this: My cat ate my power adapter for my laptop. My laptop is dead. ALL of my bookmarks, wedding and otherwise are saved on that laptop, so I had to do a quick and dirty search for all of my images. I, of course, couldn’t re-find them all. I hate my cat.*

**Not really. He just eats things.

About AshleyGee

I'm a graduate instructor at a completely Southern (Football, Rush Week, and lots of "Hey Y'alls!") university. I teach freshman comp, study
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Engagement Photo Inspiration

  1. Fia says:

    I love the balloon and umbrella ideas.

    I don’t remember engagement pictures being that big when we got married 9 years ago. This post makes me wish they were. 🙂

Leave a Reply

