Gathered ‘Round the Table

My childhood of nightly family dinners and perpetual rejection at middle school dances has me convinced that a traditional reception is not for me (kidding!).

Instead, we’re treating our family to a big ‘ole dinner (and requisite cocktails) after our ceremony. I’m calling it our “Celebration Dinner,” as it will definitely be a celebration. But, like everything else, we’re relying on word of mouth and the internets to help us find a good place to eat.

We’ve got a good idea of what we’re looking for:

  • a private room, or at least semi-private
  • a diverse menu
  • preferably an emphasis on local and organic fare
  • a decent vegetarian selection (for my hippie mom)
  • a great wine and cocktail list
  • bonus points for looking swanky

We’ve got a few places on our radar, and we’ll be giving these places a “trial run” during our upcoming trip to Asheville. If that’s not a good excuse to wine and dine ourselves, I don’t know what is!

About AshleyGee

I'm a graduate instructor at a completely Southern (Football, Rush Week, and lots of "Hey Y'alls!") university. I teach freshman comp, study
This entry was posted in Food, Planning, Reception and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gathered ‘Round the Table

  1. Krissie says:

    It’s always just me and Nathan, so I don’t know about the availability of party rooms. However, our favorite eats that otherwise fit your requirements: we love Corner Kitchen. Isn’t especially swanky, but is walking distance from the Bohemian. So is Fig. Holy mother of delicious, Fig. The food is amazing at Grove Park Inn. Table downtown is amazing, as is Limone’s.

  2. AshleyGee says:

    I knew I could count on you, Krissie! (You have NO idea how much that e-mail you sent me forever ago helps me, even now!)

    Corner Kitchen is already on our short list; I’ll have to check into the others you mentioned. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

