The Accidental Theme

Like I said yesterday, our theme was not at all intentional. It really has always been more of a “feeling”–in that I knew what kind of feel I wanted our wedding to have, but not a prescribed way to get there. Getting that “feeling” started with the general location of our wedding, the time of year, and the kind of people we are. And as I’ve been working out more and more of the finer details of our wedding, a theme just kind of emerged, and one afternoon while writing a response paper about medieval cycle plays, it just kind of occurred to me that we did, in fact, have a theme. And a color palate to go with it.

Let’s start with the easy part: the color palate. This has been clear to me from the beginning. I knew I wanted to combine Dustin’s favorite colors with mine, and incorporate those into our favorite season.

And lots of them! I’m not limiting myself to just a few colors, mainly because I don’t have to. There aren’t any bridesmaids or groomsmen, and we don’t have centerpieces or invitation suites to worry about. And to be honest? Probably the only person that will notice any of this will be me. And I’m happy with lots of rich color, even if you’re only supposed to have 2 or 3 colors for your wedding day. So bring on the pumpkin, the pomegranate, the sapphire, the eggplant and the aubergine (wait, are those the same things?).

About AshleyGee

I'm a graduate instructor at a completely Southern (Football, Rush Week, and lots of "Hey Y'alls!") university. I teach freshman comp, study
This entry was posted in Planning. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

