I Just Realized We Had a Theme

I’ve been avoiding the common practice of ascribing a theme or even a color palate for our wedding. Not because I think they’re bad, or anything, it’s just that I’m not big on themes. Or more accurately, I’m not big on sticking to them. For example, if we’d started our theme as “planes,” it would have inevitably ended up as “planes, trains, and automobiles,” which then would have extended to “planes, trains, automobiles, travel, roadmaps, compasses, cityscapes, landscapes, panoramas, Ansel Adams, and airline peanuts.” And that, my friends, is just too much for me to keep up with.

Plus, I’m a lazy planner, and if we had a theme, or even a color palate, I’d have to pay attention to those details, and make sure THEY FIT IN THE THEME! And I don’t have the energy for that.

So imagine my surprise when I was thinking about our wedding today (I came up with a brilliant idea regarding our programs and Little Golden books), and I realized that we do, in fact, have a theme. And a color palate.

Thankfully, both are so broad that they can hardly be called a theme or palate of any kind. Also thankfully, I’ve accepted my lazy-bride ways, and am totally okay with not having the smallest details fit into the theme. Or the color palate. Amen.

About AshleyGee

I'm a graduate instructor at a completely Southern (Football, Rush Week, and lots of "Hey Y'alls!") university. I teach freshman comp, study
This entry was posted in Planning. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

