Short Hair Inspiration

So in my last post, I was getting a little nervous about being a short- or medium-length hair bride.

As much as I love the look of a long cascade of gentle curls, I think I’ve reconciled that my hair just doesn’t do that look all that well. Plus, I don’t feel great when my hair is long. I feel tired, weighed down, and really not very cute or sexy or romantic. And that’s the point, isn’t it? I want to FEEL great on my wedding day, not just look great. Because let’s face it, when you feel good, that shows, and you look good.

So I’m okay with being a short (or medium) hair bride. And now I want to be a Vintage short hair bride!

I’m pretty much in love with anything from the WW2 years (plus a few years before and a few years after!), and if I were talented enough to sew a wardrobe, I’d be rockin’ some 40s clothes All. The. Time. But luckily for me, I’ve got blogs. And Casey does this for me. You should read her blog because she’s beautiful and creative and crafty, but also because she’s an endless supply of vintage inspiration. And recently, she posted photos of her Pincurled Hair, all styled up and pretty:


Both photos from http://blog.caseybrowndesigns.com/

And I’m loving this. I want a vintage feel on my wedding day, but since I don’t rock vintage-inspired looks every day, I also don’t want to feel like I’m in a costume. Wearing a wedding dress will already make me feel a little out of place. And this look is simple, classic, and elegant, but I could totally be a cut up, too. I could totally wear this hair.

But wait! I kind of already have, at least once! Pardon the quality–I was going to a Halloween party and was really late and had no light. And also no editing skillz. So this look is a little different–these are the Victory Rolls I donned when I dressed as Flannery O’Connor last Halloween.*

So apparently, two rolls is too many, but one soft roll swept to the side is okay. I will never understand my own logic. But I do know what I like, and I like vintage-inspired hair.

*I didn’t really mean to go as Flannery O’Connor. But people were drinking, and it was dark, and I was wearing a 40s dress and am in the English department studying Southern lit, so I guess the connection was inevitable, even though Flannery O didn’t wear her hair in Victory Rolls (as far as I can tell):

About AshleyGee

I'm a graduate instructor at a completely Southern (Football, Rush Week, and lots of "Hey Y'alls!") university. I teach freshman comp, study
This entry was posted in Other Attire, Vintage. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

