The Girl I Love She Got Long Black Wavy Hair*

So I’ve been thinking about my hair. I should mention now that this post involves many very self-involved photos of my hair. For better or for worse.

This is how it looks on a daily basis:

front, obviously, and boy do I need a tan.

back, also obviously

I’ve worn my hair much longer than this (down to my rear end was the longest, and OMG never again!), and I’ve worn it much shorter (just at the nape of my neck). A little bit of information about my hair. Only the top layers are curly, the bottommost layer is straight. When it gets longer (it’s beginning to do this now), my hair gets too heavy to stay curly from scalp to tip–only the ends of my hair stay curly when it’s long. If I put it in a ponytail, it’s over an inch thick (I measured when I donated to Locks of Love a few years ago). I wish I could have a mini-Afro.

Right now, it’s getting a little long for my liking, and I’ve scheduled a hair cut for next week.

But this raises the eternal question for a bride: Am I a short hair bride or a long hair bride? If I get my hair cut, it will most likely be just a little longer than it is now by my wedding in November. (My last haircut was in the summer of 2009–my hair grows slo….ooo…ooo…wl..y.). If I don’t get it cut at all, it will probably look something like this by November:

from http://www.jessicatrapp.com/AboutJes.htm

Except mine will be dark brown. Okay, at most it’d get about this long, but probably a little shorter:

That’s my brother and I at a Hootie and the Blowfish show. Don’t hate on Hootie.

This is where I’m conflicted. I’m convinced that mermaid hair is NOT a good look for me. Or for any woman above the age of 16 (okay, forget that I was just shy of my 21st birthday in that photo). But Dustin *loves* my long hair. Adores it. Begs me not to cut it off. Plays with it all the time. Would really, really love it if I kept my hair long.

But I love when my hair is short, like this:

It’s light, bouncy, my curls are bigger, it’s easier to wash and brush through. And I think it makes me look cute, yet like the mature, sophisticated adult I wish I could pretend to be.

But I also love the look of a long haired bride.

from Bride.ca

C’mon with that. It’s gorgeous! And under a veil? Even better.

But I’m having a hard time convincing myself that growing my crazy-ass hair out during a long Mississippi summer would really be worth a head of hair that in reality, looks less like the photo above and more like the hair of a crazy person.

I need a little convincing that a short-haired bride with crazy curly hair can be beautiful, too.

*And it shakes just like a willow tree.

About AshleyGee

I'm a graduate instructor at a completely Southern (Football, Rush Week, and lots of "Hey Y'alls!") university. I teach freshman comp, study
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

