What I’ll Wear OVER My Dress

I still have no idea what kind of dress I want (well, I know it won’t be poofy, or heavy with beading), but I do know what I want to wear over my dress. Yes. Over. We’re getting married outside, in the mountains, next to a mountain stream, on the Monday before Thanksgiving. It’s probably going to be a little more than chilly. (But we don’t care.)

I was watching Last Chance Harvey with Dustin Hoffman several months ago, and the plot of the movie centers around Harvey’s daughter’s wedding. Susan (the daughter/Liane Balaban) wore a pashmina over her gown, nothing I hadn’t seen before, but for whatever reason, when I saw it I decided I had to have it.

Exhibit #1:

P.S. Don’t you just love Emma Thompson? She’s gorgeous. Elegant. Sophisticated. Snarky. I want to be her when I grow up.

I love everything about that pashmina. I want one that length, that width, and with the small bit of fringe.

Two things: Because it’s probably going to be cold, I think I’ll need something heavier than your typical pashmina. Cashmere? Wool? I need to research material. Hello, Jo-Anne’s. Also, I’m gonna need some color. A rich purple. A pumpkin orange. Something fabulous. Something like this:

From Nordstrom

I might even try to knit it myself.

Behold, other exhibits I like:

From RebeccaThuss.com

Both from expired Etsy listings (dammit!)

About AshleyGee

I'm a graduate instructor at a completely Southern (Football, Rush Week, and lots of "Hey Y'alls!") university. I teach freshman comp, study
This entry was posted in Other Attire. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I’ll Wear OVER My Dress

  1. Kathleen says:

    I love love love the pashmina idea! And you could get so much use out of it after the wedding, if you so desired. Might I suggest Ross or TJ Maxx? I’ve found most of mine there. They have a great selection of style and color, and of course the prices are great. Also, try Ebay. I have a gorgeous ruby pashmina from there.

Leave a Reply

